Same Sex Marriage

same sex marriageSame-sex marriage is one of the principles that LGBT activists feel strongly about. This would provide same-sex couples equal rights to those of heterosexual couples, especially on the issue of adoption and insurance. However, most countries around the world do not recognize or perform such unions.

But some countries recognize same-sex marriage, namely the Netherlands, Belgium, Canada, Spain, and South Africa. Israel recognizes same-sex marriages performed in other countries, but does not perform them. In the United States, these unions are currently considered unprotected by the country’s constitution and is banned in the majority of states. It is, however, legal in the State of Massachusetts but only for their residents and those living in Rhode Island.

Civil unions

Civil unions or legal partnerships are being done in several countries in Europe’s such as the Scandinavian region, Germany, France, Luxembourg, Andorra, Slovenia, Switzerland, Czech Republic, United Kingdom, and some regions in Italy. It is also operative in American states of Vermont and Connecticut, as well as the Australian states of Tasmania and Australian Capital Territory, and in Mexico City.

Domestic relationships

Domestic partnership, which gives fewer rights than a civil union, is operative in Hungary, Portugal, and Croatia. It is also being done in American states of California, Maine, New Jersey, and District of Columbia, in the Australian states and territories of Western Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Northern Territory, and Queensland, in the Brazilian state of Rio Grande do Sul and in the Argentinean province of Rio Negro and the city of Buenos Aires.

Same sex marriage in U.S.

The state of Hawaii has “reciprocal beneficiaries’ relationship,” which is a limited interpersonal status for same-sex couples, while pending legal challenges to marriage restrictions are aimed at expanding or reinforcing the recognition of same-sex marriages to California, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Washington.

Meanwhile, steps are being undertaken to challenge the recognition of same-sex marriages and civil unions at prohibiting such recognition in states of Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Indiana, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

The city of San Francisco in 2004 began sanctioning same-sex marriages despite their explicitly illegal in California. The state’s Supreme Court declared the unions null and void. In 2005, a bill that would have changed California law to let same-sex couples marry was passed by both the Congress and the Senate. However, it was vetoed by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


<�!-- start Vibrant Media IntelliTXT script section --> <�script type="text/javascript" src=""><�/script> <�!-- end Vibrant Media IntelliTXT script section -->